By 2019, Tennessee had around 4.5 million licensed drivers. The federal implementation of REAL ID has now been extended. The deadline for obtaining a REAL ID has been extended from October 1, 2021 to May 3, 2023. It offers more identity protection and may be used for air travel in the same way as a standard license.
In Tennessee, drivers are not permitted to use a cell phone behind the wheel. Any motorist caught using a mobile device while driving can be fined $200. You may talk on the phone by using headphones or a smartwatch. There is no texting, nor is there any screen-scrolling on phones. Although dashboard attachments are still permitted, they will not protect you from being ticketed! DUI fines in Nashville range from $350 to $1500 and must serve at least 48 hours in jail. For additional Tennessee road laws, see below.
How to Renew a Tennessee Driver’s License
What documents are necessary to renew my Tennessee driver’s license, and how do I go about doing so? Excellent questions. The procedure for renewing a Tennessee driver’s license has recently been altered. People over the age of 21 can now obtain an eight-year license beginning in 2016. Photos were not previously included on Tennessee driver’s licenses, and if you turned 60 before 2013, they may still not be there.
Tennessee driver’s licenses can be renewed in person at a DMV office, by mail or online in many situations. You may receive a ticket and fined as if you had never held a license if your license has expired.
You can renew your TN driver’s license online if you do not need to make any changes and will be using the same image. This is only for standard drivers’ licenses and state ID cards with no specific criteria listed.
In person is the only way to renew a Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) or other commercial license for drivers who are renewing their licenses. Non-citizens must renew their driver’s license in person.
The state sends out a reminder to renew your driver’s license by mail two months before it is set to expire. The expiration date for drivers’ licenses is always the day of birth.
You must now provide proof of citizenship within the first year of renewal in Tennessee. A valid, current US passport and a Social Security card are acceptable documents for authentication. If you’re not a citizen, you’ll need to establish your legal presence and show proper documentation.
If you have any doubt about which documents are acceptable, contact the TN DMV for clarification. To renew a driver’s license in Tennessee, you must satisfy the state’s legal address and legal presence requirements. If your current, valid driver’s license is not your first time renewing, you may also use it to verify your legal address (proof of residency) and legal presence (US citizenship) in the state.
If your address has changed, a recent utility bill is sufficient proof of an address. A bank statement or a copy of a rental agreement are also acceptable forms of identification.
Military Driver’s License and State ID Card Renewal
Active military members with an expired driver’s license or state ID card are not affected by the printed date. This does not apply to National Guard soldiers or those stationed at bases in the state. For discharged veterans who are no longer on active duty, license renewal must be done within 60 days of the expiration date shown on their driving license, state ID card, or military ID.
Driver’s License Renewal Test Requirements
Is it true that to renew my driver’s license in Tennessee, I must take the driving test again?
If your TN driver’s license has been inactive for more than a year, you may have to complete the behind-the-wheel test and written examination. In this case, all necessary payments must be made. You may be required to start over as if you were applying for your very first driver’s license in some circumstances.
Renewing an Expired Driver’s License
A Tennessee driver’s license has a 30-day grace period before it expires. When you go to renew your license, you will be charged a late fee if you do so after the 30 days. The required renewal fee is determined by how long the license has been expired.
The fee to renew a driver’s license is $28, and the new ID is good for eight years.
There is a late charge if you are 30 days beyond the expiration date, as well as smaller fees if you choose to renew your license or state ID card online.
Reinstating a Suspended Driver’s License
If your license has been suspended, you can renew it once the suspension term expires. To reactivate a suspended driver’s license, there is an extra charge. Drivers may not use the internet option in this case and must instead go to the TN DMV to renew their license in person.
You may obtain a replacement driver’s license if your own or have the ability to show your TN driver’s license number.
Schedule a DMV Appointment
You can schedule an appointment to renew your driver’s license by calling the TN DMV office nearest to you, although this is not necessary if you choose to do it in person.
If you have any more queries regarding how to renew a driver’s license in Tennessee or specific to your situation, it’s advised that you contact the TN DMV.